Traffic Police in Punjab has two main components under the current command & control structure. Traffic wardens with grayish blue uniform are performing traffic management in the five City districts i.e. Lahore, Rawalpindi, Faisalabad, Multan & Gujranwala and have been notified as Punjab Traffic Warden Service. Traffic Police Punjab with white shirt & blue trousers are performing duties in the remaining 31 districts.

An officer of SSP rank known as Chief Traffic Officer (CTO) is the incharge of Traffic Police in City districts Rawalpindi, Faisalabad, Multan & Gujranwala, and are under the operational control of their respective CPOs, whereas in Lahore it is under the administrative and operational control of CCPO Lahore. 
In the ramaining 9 Regions of Punjab, one SP is supervising Traffic in each Region and is known as SP Traffic Region, whereas an ASP/DSP is posted in each district as Incharge Traffic district, who is administratively answerable to the respective SP Traffic Region but is under the operational control of DPO concerned. DIG of Police Traffic Punjab is looking after the operational matters of Traffic Regions of Punjab under the command of Addl. IGP Traffic stationed at Traffic Hqrs. Qurban Lines Lahore.


  • To ensure safety and provide help to road users in distress. It is our commitment to extend due respect to all road users,  be fair and uphold ethical practices all the times.
  • To ensure smooth flow of traffic with minimum resources and economical use of manpower / equipments.
  • To gradually shift to the use of modern gadgetry to  enforce traffic laws and regulate traffic.


  • Educate  general citizenry on war footing regarding traffic laws
  • Unhindered flow of traffic with minimum deployment of manpower
  • Gradually to shift to the use of modern gadgetry to  regulate, control traffic and ensure effective enforcement of traffic laws